Today, Mary-Ann’s Polarrigg consists of a pleasant courtyard surrounded by three buildings; the mining rig, the luxury rig and the transport rig.
Accommodation is in the form of 17 single, 19 double and four family rooms. Facilities include the Vinterhagen restaurant, cozy living room and guest kitchen.
Created in 1999 by Mary-Ann Dahle (1948-2020), the hotel was transformed from its previous life as miners barracks carefully and lovingly into what we have today. Over the past 20 years, Mary-Ann has been growing and updating each building with new ideas to make sure guests have a special experience while visiting Svalbard. Many items throughout the hotel are from the old coal mines in the area including the red miner’s bus which stands outside the bar area and serves as a smoking shelter complete with fairy lights.
Gruveriggen (mining rig) is split into two parts with our hotel reception on one side and Vinterhagen restaurant and bar on the other. Our modestly furnished single and double rooms are on opposite sides of this building with shared bathrooms on the corridor. Next to reception is where you will find our homely living room and guest kitchen.
The Luxury rig was completed in 2002. In this building are our five luxury double and four family rooms which are furnished to hotel standard with their own private bathrooms. Each room has a different name and is uniquely decorated with its own quirky and cosy furnishings.
This building is home to our Game Room, complete with pool table, foosball, darts and bar. A laid-back space to enjoy music and games in a great atmosphere. The game room is also available to hire for private functions.